Lentil Ragu

I think about this recipe a lot and I make it so frequently that I figured it makes sense to pop it on my blog. It’s a BBC Good Food recipe and I think it is in my top 5 meals I’ve ever eaten, plus it’s so cheap to make. It’s so rich and comforting and is a dreamy winter dinner. My top tip with this recipe is to be patient; the longer it simmers the softer the lentils and the more delicious it is. Another tip is not to be shy with the red wine.

screen-shot-2017-01-09-at-20-23-44

The below will make approx. 4 portions, I always whip up quite a big batch and freeze a couple of portions.

Ingredients:
– 2 tbsp olive oil
– 2 onions, finely chopped
– 2 carrots, finely chopped
– 2 celery sticks, finely chopped (optional)
– 2 garlic cloves, crushed (I whack in a spoon of lazy garlic)
– 300g dried red lentils
– 400g tin chopped tomatoes
– 1 tbsp tomato puree
– 1 tbsp dried oregano
– 1 tbsp dried thyme
– 600ml vegetable stock
– big fat splash of red wine (optional but obviously include it)

+ spaghetti, pine nuts, vegan cheese

Method:
1. Heat oil in a large, deep sauce pan and add the onions, carrots, celery and garlic. Cook gently, stirring often, for around 20 minutes until softened.
2. Stir in the lentils, chopped tomatoes, puree, herbs, stock and red wine.
3. Bring to a simmer for around 50 minutes, checking on it often and added water if it begins to look a little dry or like it is sticking to the bottom of the pan.
4. Serve with pasta and sprinkle with some vegan cheese and toasted pine nuts.

Even if you don’t think you like lentils or ragu, you should give this recipe a chance. It’s so cosy and it’s a million times better than the Zizzi lentl ragu in my opinion.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

