Green Pea and Coconut Soup

I’ve been meaning to try out this recipe for ages, a friend of mine made it and said it was the best soup she’s ever made and she too hates peas. I’ve been eating like an absolute pig for the last three weeks, and I really do mean a proper greedy pig, I’ve been scoffing crisps every evening and secretly inhaling packets of hobnobs like I need them to breathe. So, making the greenest of green soups seems like a good way to get me back on track with being wholesome and healthy and now that I have enough of this for the next few days I’m feeling good!

This is taken from Anna Jones’ second book ‘A Modern Way to Cook’ and requires very few ingredients, most of which you’ll probably have already (pretty sure it is mandatory to have a bag of peas in the freezer) and like with all soups it’s really easy to make. The recipe suggests it serves 4 – 6 but I’d say it’s more like 4 unless you’re serving very small people.

Ingredients:

  • a bunch of spring onions
  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 1kg frozen peas
  • 1 x 400ml tin of coconut milk
  • 1/2 stock cube (I used a full one, tasted great)
  • a bunch of basil or coriander or a mixture of both
  • 1 lemon
  • extra virgin olive oil

Method:

Put a large pan with a lid on a medium heat and add your coconut oil and finely chopped spring onions. Turn up the heat and cook for two minutes or until soft.

IMG_5119

Add 750ml hot water, the coconut milk, the millions of peas and the stock cube, place the lid on the pan and bring to the boil. Once it’s boiling (around 5-10 minutes) lower the heat slightly and simmer for a further 2-3 minutes until everything is nice and soft.

Take it off the heat and add in the juice of a lemon and your chopped basil and/or coriander. I used a mixture of the two and the basil completely overpowered the coriander so if you did want a coriander flavour I would leave out the basil.

IMG_5120

And blend! Top with your herb of choice and a drizzle of olive oil. I just had a bowl on its own but it would be souper good with some toasted ciabatta! What are some of your favourite soup recipes?

IMG_5121

 

Leave a Reply

