Champagne Life

I am by no means an art buff, in fact I would go as far to say that I know absolutely nothing about art and base how good something is purely on whether or not I like it. Honestly, I went to this exhibition yesterday because it was free and I had seen some pictures of the clay cows on instagram and I really really love cows.

I actually loved the whole exhibition (some parts more than others) and the gift shop was amazing and I wanted everything. Especially a green tote bag with “Emotional Baggage” printed on it, sadly it was £35 so I settled for a bog standard £2 Saatchi Gallery one.

Unfortunately, it’s over now so you can’t go and see it but you can look at my photos. The exhibit was made up of pieces by all female artists and I’m not going to pretend to know anything else but everything was really cool and I wish I was talented.

My new (very late) new years resolution is to go to at least one gallery a month and wander around for an hour or two. I found it so relaxing and also really great for one of my other favourite activities – people watching.

IMG_4764

Julia Wachtel
“Champagne Life” 2014
Oil, lacquer ink and flashe on canvas

IMG_4765

Jelena Bulajic
“Ljubica” 2012
Mixed media on canvas

IMG_4717

Soheila Sokhanvari
“Moje Sabz” 2011
Taxidermy, fibreglass, jesmonite blob, automobile paint

IMG_4766

Virgile Ittah
“Echoué au seuil de la raison” 2014
Mixed wax, marble dust, cast iron beds

Stephanie Quayle
“Two Cows” 2013
Air-hardening clay, chicken wire, steel

IMG_4767

Maha Mullah
“Food for Thought” 2016
478 burnt pots (!!!!)

IMG_4768

Mia Feuer
“Jerusalem Donkey” 2015
Papier-mâché, pigments, rope

IMG_4761

Marie Angeletti
“TLYA Parrott” 2014 // “TLYA La Novice” 2015
Digital print on stainless steel // Digital print


The next exhibition at the Saatchi Gallery is “Exhibitionism: The Rolling Stones” and opens on the 5th April, it’ll showcase all things Rolling Stones and cost £21 so I’ll be taking a cold hard pass on that one. I will however be keeping both eyes wide open on the look out for other exhibitions with anything even slightly related to animals and/or cooking. I’ll keep you posted on what I find.

T: 020 7811 3070

A: Duke of York’s HQ, King’s Road, London, SW3 4RY

W: http://www.saatchigallery.com/

(The gallery is open 10am-6pm daily)

Leave a Reply

