Almond Butter Quinoa

 

IMG_2422

I’m a die hard Deliciously Ella fan so I couldn’t wait to get my paws on her second book, luckily I pre-ordered so could get cracking pretty swiftly.

When I flicked through this recipe really stood out, almond butter and quinoa just weren’t two things I would normally put together so obviously I had to try it first. Some others I can’t wait to try are the roasted parsnip fries, chocolate ganache cake and the courgette banana bread! This recipe along with many in her new book are all one serving which is perfect for me as I mostly just cook for myself and often get in a muddle when dividing the quantities in ingredients lists!


 

Ingredients

For the quinoa

  • 60g quinoa
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • salt
  • 40g hazelnuts
  • 1/2 small cucumber
  • big handful of rocket

For the dressing

  • 2 tablespoons almond butter
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • salt
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 teaspoon chilli flakes

Method

Preheat oven to 200°

Place quinoa in a saucepan with 250ml boiling water, the lemon juice and a little salt. Boil for a minute and then reduce the heat, place the lid on the pan and let it simmer for 10-15 minutes.

Meanwhile, put hazelnuts in a baking tray and bake for 10 minutes until they’re crunchy.

Mix all of the dressing ingredients together and cut the cucumber into small pieces.

Once the quinoa has cooked place everything in a bowl and mix it all together.


My verdict: Highly recommend, make sure you don’t leave out the hazelnuts – they completely make the dish. It’s a pretty big serving and the dressing is quite rich so if you had it with some bread it could easily be shared between two. Ella says in her book that this dressing can be used on any grains and with it being so easy to make and with so few ingredients I will definitely be trying it with other dishes.

To buy Deliciously Ella’s new book ‘Every Day’ on Amazon click here. (Currently £8.99!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

